Transferable Custom Fields
Custom Fields are available on the Core, Connect, and Unlimited plans.
Transferable custom fields allow you to record and track business-specific information in Jobber.
Creating a Transferable Custom Field
First you will need to decide where the information you are recording needs to originate from. Typically the starting level is the Client level, that way all items created from the client will share the same data.
Click onto the Gear icon > Settings > Custom Fields and create a new custom field at the level that you've chosen.
Check off Transferable Field to make this field transferable.
Click Create Custom Field when you're done making changes.
Transferable Custom Fields transfer forwards from the level they're created. Here's a handy chart for reference:
A transferable field will only move forwards in your workflow with Jobber, starting with the level where the entry was made.
For example, if you were to create a transferable custom field named 'Gate Code' on the property level for your client, John Snow, and enter the code number on a quote with 1234, this gate code would then show up on jobs and invoices converted from that quote. The code number will not appear on the existing property or any newly created properties for John because the entry was made at the quote level, which is further into the workflow than a property.
If you originally put the gate code in at the property level, it would then show up on each quote, job, and invoice created from that property.
Editing a Transferable Custom Field
Custom fields will not transfer to pre-existing information.
Transferred data will appear when you create a new client, quote, job, or invoice, but not when you edit any of these pre-existing records. This is because these records existed prior to the custom field's creation and they won't be changed retroactively by the addition of the custom field.
Deleting a Transferable Custom Field
To delete a transferable custom field, find where this field originally existed, click on it, and hit delete in the bottom left.
Deleting a custom field will also delete all of the information that currently exists in those fields.
The Jobber Glossary
Confused by language we use in Jobber? Definitions right this way.Get Reading!
Sign up for a Webinar
Tutorials for both those new to Jobber and long-time power users.Sign Me Up!
We walk you through our biggest features and point out the essentials.Let’s Watch!