Table of Contents
Only account owners can request that their account is permanently closed. The option to permanently close your account appears as a button in the Jobber app on iOS. Our team can also assist with permanently closing an account. Account owners can reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org to request account closure.
How to close your account from the Jobber App
To permanently close your account from the Jobber App on iOS, navigate to your settings (Gear Icon). From the Profile section, tap Close Account.
If you have yet to cancel your Jobber subscription, you will be prompted to cancel first.
From the Close account page, type "CLOSE" to confirm that you intend to close your account, then tap Close Account.
You will then see that your account is marked for closure.
Account closure FAQ
Jump to an FAQ
- What is the difference between canceling and closing?
- What if I want to sign up for Jobber again?
- Can I undo my account closure?
- What will my clients see if they view client hub after my account is closed?
- Can I export my data before closing my account?
- What happens to my reports once my account is closed?
- How do I handle my 1099-K form at tax time?
- Who can request account closure?
What is the difference between canceling and closing?
When you cancel your account, once the account expires you lose access to the account and you are no longer billed. However, the account still exists which means in the future you could reactivate the same account. You might choose to do this if you need to reference information from your Jobber account, or if you do seasonal work where you might not need access during the off-season. When you reactivate your account billing for your subscription billing resumes.
When you permanently close your Jobber account, your account is removed entirely, so you will not be able to access or reactivate the account in the future as it will no longer exist. Any information that you had in your account will no longer be retrievable.
What if I want to sign up for Jobber again?
Once you have closed your account, if you would like to return to Jobber you will need to sign up for a brand new Jobber account as your original one will be gone. If you do seasonal work or think there is a chance you might want to return to the same Jobber account in the future, canceling your account might be a better fit since the account will be preserved.
Can I undo my account closure?
Once an account is closed it is final.
What will my clients see if they view client hub after my account is closed?
Client hub will be unavailable once an account has been permanently closed. If a client tries to access it, they will see a message that it’s unavailable and to reach out to you by your company phone number and email address that were set up in your Company Settings.
Can I export my data before closing my account?
Reports that are in .CSV format can be exported from Jobber Online which you can retain for your records. To export a report, navigate to Reports from the side navigation, then select a report. From the report, select the date range you want to export, then click Export Excel Copy. Choosing All columns will export all possible columns in the report, whereas choosing Selected columns will export only the ones visible on screen.
Within 15 minutes you will be sent an email with the exported report attached as a .CSV file.
Files that are in PDF format (such as quotes, jobs, or invoices) can be downloaded individually. To download a PDF, navigate to the item, then click More Actions > Download PDF.
To download a request, navigate to the request then click More Actions > Print. From the print preview screen, set your printer destination to Save as PDF, then click Save.
If you have any invoices in "awaiting payment" or "past due" status, a quick way to export the PDFs is to use batch invoice delivery and select deliver by standard mail.
What happens to my reports once my account is closed?
Reports will no longer be accessible once your account has been permanently closed. If you think there is a chance you would like to refer back to your reports, exporting them is a good option, or canceling your account rather than closing will give you an opportunity to re-subscribe in the future if you need to retrieve any reports or other information.
If you have a Stripe Capital loan, any questions about your loan status can be directed to email@example.com as your loan report will no longer be accessible in Jobber.
How do I handle my 1099-K form at tax time?
During tax season, Jobber is required to submit a 1099-K tax form to the IRS (and some states) which summarizes the sales activity of your Jobber Payments account. 1099-K forms are only issued for the amounts processed through Jobber Payments. Any payments collected outside of Jobber Payments (such as checks or cash payments) are not included.
If you permanently close your Jobber account, we will file using the information and the payment volume we have on record for the tax year up until your account closure. If you need to change any of your information, please reach out to our team at firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.
Who can request account closure?
Only account owners can request that their Jobber accounts are permanently closed. Learn more about Account Ownership.
If an account is in the midst of transferring account ownership, the account cannot be closed while the account ownership is pending. Once the new account owner accepts account ownership they can then request account closure. Account ownership cannot be transferred once an account has been marked for closure.
If you have any questions, please reach out to our Support Team and we will do our best to help! If you have already initiated the account closure process, please reach out before your Jobber subscription has ended. You can see when your subscription expires in your Jobber account from the Gear Icon > Account and Billing.