Table of Contents
Control what information your team can access in Jobber, and keep them in the loop with a notification anytime their schedule changes.
Jobber has the ability to send Push Notifications to any of your mobile app-using users any time they have a schedule change that affects their current workday. Admin users can opt into more push notifications so they are notified right away when clients submit new requests, send a text, or view a quote for the first time. Push notifications bring communication with your clients to your fingertips, even after you've left the job site.
What will send a user a push notification
We will send notifications when:
- Today's schedule changed
- New request assessments, tasks, or visits added to their schedule for today
- Request assessments, tasks, or visits removed, deleted, or canceled for today
- Request assessments, tasks, or visits for today being rescheduled
- New booking request
- Client message
- A new text message from a client or lead comes in. These can be viewed in the message center if you are using two-way text messaging
- Only admins or users with two-way text message permissions will see these notifications
- Client viewed quote
- When a client has opened a quote in client hub for the first time
- Only admins see this notification
How often are they sent out?
Push notifications for schedule changes (for the current workday) are sent one minute after the last update is made to a user's schedule. The one-minute delay means that only one push notification is sent so as not to send your team too many notifications about various schedule changes when just one push notification will notify them that there has been a change.
For admins, push notifications about booking requests, client messages, and clients viewing quotes happen in the moment when a client submits a request, sends a text message to your dedicated phone number, or opens a quote in client hub for the first time.
Manage push notifications
Schedule change push notifications are sent out automatically by the system, so there are no extra steps that need to be done when editing the schedule. All you need to do is make sure that each user has the mobile app downloaded, and notifications are on for the app in their phone settings. Non-admin users will only receive push notifications for scheduling changes, however, admins have some additional notification options.
Admin users can manage their push notifications in the app by navigating to the Gear Icon > Notifications.
Each of these notifications types can be enabled so that the user will receive that notification type. If you are finding that the notifications are getting too noisy, push notifications can be toggled off to stop receiving that type of notification.
Q: My team isn't receiving any notifications about their schedule changing
A: If your team isn't receiving the notifications, there are a few common causes:
- Make sure that they are on an up-to-date version of the Mobile App
- See if their phone currently has given Jobber the permissions to send them the Push Notifications. They can check in their phone's settings to make sure that they can receive notifications from Jobber.
Q: I tried sending myself a test notification and nothing happened.
A: Users will only get a notification if the schedule change is done by another person, so you can't send yourself notifications. This is because we don't want to send you notifications for things that you are already aware of.
Q: Why is there a 1-minute delay in the notifications?
A: When you are editing a user's schedule, you may be making dozens of small changes (ex. moving things around on the calendar.) We will wait a minute to make sure that you are done editing the schedule, and then will send a single notification to the user that will let them know that their schedule has been updated.
Q: Can non-admin users turn off schedule change notifications?
A: Non-admin users do not have the option to turn off schedule change notifications for their account. The push notification settings are only available to admin users.