Table of Contents
Have you recently received an email or seen a banner that starts with the lines:
"We noticed an unusual login on your Jobber account. For example, they may have signed in from a new location, or device."
Note: The language in the email can vary and it may also include the name associated with the user who logged in unusually.
If so, here is what that means and here are your next steps.
Why did I receive this?
We're notifying you because we detected a login that seems out of the ordinary. You will see both a banner in your Jobber account and you'll receive an email about this. The banner will notify you that this login happened and the email will have details like the date, device, and location that can help you determine if this login was unusual or not. If you don't recognize the login and are worried about someone having access to your account, we're here to help.
Sometimes everyday things look unusual or out of the ordinary to us and you will receive this email. For example if you log into your Jobber account while on a trip or vacation away from your home, using a VPN, setting up a new device, or sharing a login with someone else, etc.
Note: To keep your account secure, we don't suggest that users share Jobber accounts or details like their password.
Your next steps will vary based on your Jobber user permissions and if your account has been flagged as needing extra protection. We protect your account by putting it in into "safe mode" which restricts some important items in Jobber.
When in safe mode, changes to important parts of your account are not able to be made. Your day-to-day workflow is not affected.
You're still able to accept payments via Jobber Payments in safe mode and they'll be paid out as a standard payout. For non-admin users the experience of using Jobber will be the same and they will still be able to complete their work as usual.
There are two different messages that might have been included in your email or banner message, one notifying you that your account has already been moved into safe mode and another with an option to move it into safe mode if you don't recognize the login.
Automatically moved to safe mode
If your email states:
"To help keep your Jobber account safe, we’ve temporarily blocked critical parts of your account from being used or changed."
Then the next step is for the account owner to reach out to us at firstname.lastname@example.org so that we can verify that the account is secure. If the login was unrecognized, we’ll ask you to update your passwords as part of this process.
Start by updating the password for your email account, it's important to change your email password first in case anyone who might have gained access to your Jobber account might also have gained access to your email account.
Once your email account password has been changed, visit https://secure.getjobber.com/password_resets/new reset to reset your Jobber password. If you run into any trouble, check out our guide to Password Reset Troubleshooting. Since the password reset email is sent to your email address, it is important that you only take this step after resetting your email password.
In the meantime, we've already put your account into safe mode as a proactive measure to prevent changes being made to important settings. Your day-to-day workflow is not affected.
I don't recognize this login
If your email states:
Then your account isn't in safe mode yet. This email is sent to the account owner or admin user who had the unusual login and includes an I don't recognize this login button. Clicking the button will move your account into safe mode, but if you don't click the button your account will remain as is. Other admin users will also be notified that there was an unusual login but their email is just a notification, there is no button to move the account in safe mode.
If the login details in this email are you, feel free to ignore the email. It's just here as a heads up and you don't need to take any action.