Instantly communicate with your clients and manage your conversations in a single place. Available on the Apple App Store and Google Play Store.
Two-way messaging is available on select plans in the United States and Canada. Two-way messaging is not available while in trial.
Two-way text messaging in the Jobber App allows you to carry on a conversation with a client while out in the field directly through the Jobber App. When a client replies back to an automated text message it appears instantly in the message center, where you can respond to it and continue the conversation. On Jobber subscriptions where two-way text messaging is available, there is no additional cost to you associated with the messages you send through Jobber. Once the conversation starts you can have unlimited back and forth with that client.
Two-way text messaging is available to administrators and users who have the two-way text message permission enabled (must be turned on from Jobber Online, not the app). This permission can be updated by going to the Gear Icon > Manage Team > User and updating their custom permissions. Having this permission enabled for two-way text messaging gives users access to all text messages sent via Jobber and adds the Messages tab in the app. Each message sent through the message center will display the name of the user who sent it. Automated messages show as sent by "Jobber".
Note: For your client's privacy, in the message center we hide private client hub links however when your client views the text message on their device, the links will be visible and clickable.
Learn more about Two-way Text Messaging in Jobber Online.
Select a dedicated phone number
In order to see the messages tab in the app and be able to text back and forth with your clients, you must set up a dedicated phone number first. Your dedicated phone number is the phone number that all your text messages will come from, whether sent automatically or otherwise! A dedicated phone number must be set up from Jobber Online.
Learn how to select a Dedicated Phone Number.
Messaging in the app
Once you have selected a dedicated phone number, you will see a tab for Messages along the menu bar in the app.
Tapping the Messages icon opens the list of ongoing text conversations. Conversations with new messages from your clients will have a red dot next to them to indicate that you need to reply to that conversation. The messages icon will display the number of unread messages with a badge.
In order to carry on a conversation with a client, they must be using a phone number that can receive text messages. The client must either have texted your dedicated phone number already or you need to start the conversation by sending them a text message through Jobber first. This could be:
- a booking confirmation
- an appointment notification
- an on my way message
- a quote or invoice sent via text message
If you get a text message from someone who is not a client in your Jobber account yet, their name will appear as "Unknown". Once you add them as a client and either of you messages the other, their name will update to match the client name in Jobber.
Tap into each conversation to see the message history. If you would like to send a message back to the client, type it into the message field.
If you've sent the client a link to view an appointment, quote, or invoice there will be a button in the conversation to go to that item in the app.
When there are new messages, the Jobber app will show a badge that displays the number of new messages.
Note: The app badge and red dot indicating if a message has been read is something that works at the account level. That means that if a user opens a new message, that message will appear as read to all users on the account, even to users who haven't opened the message yet.
When a new message from a client comes in, you will get a push notification from the app letting you know. The push notification will show the client's name as well as the text they sent. If your device's notification settings are set to not show message previews, then the Jobber app will also not display a message preview.
Note: When you download the Jobber app for the first time, your device will prompt you to allow notifications the first time you navigate to the message center or schedule tab in the app. If you have previously downloaded the Jobber app and are updating to the newest version instead of downloading the app for the first time, you may need to check in your device settings that the Jobber app has push notifications enabled.