Customize and automate notifications to keep your clients in the loop at key points before, during, and after the work.
This feature is available on select plans in the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom.
Using the Jobber mobile app, users can send an "on my way" text message to the client based on their scheduled appointment for the day. The message lets your clients know roughly when you will be arriving with a team member selecting how many minutes away you are into an already created message.
Note: Clients will need to have a primary phone number that can receive text messages (and have that setting toggled ON) in order to send them an "on my way" text message.
Send an on my way text message
To send an on my way message, tap into a visit from the schedule tab in the app. On the visit, tap the speech bubble icon.
Note: The speech bubble icon shows regardless if your client's phone number can be texted or not. If you send an on my way text message to a phone number that can't recieve texts (such as a landline), you will see this message: Cannot send on my way message. A phone number that receives text messages is required.
If you are using two-way text messaging (available on the select plans), after selecting the speech bubble icon, you will see a menu with options to either send a text message or on my way text message. Tap Send on my way text.
From the Send on my way text screen, select the call back number and how many minutes away from arrival you are.
The callback number is the number that appears in the text message that a client can call if they have any concerns.
The callback number can be:
- My number - This is the phone number listed for your user profile on jobber.com. You can view and manage the number by going to the Gear Icon > Settings > Manage Team (for admin users) or by navigating to the Gear Icon > Personal Settings (for non-admin users). If your phone number is used for two-step verification for Jobber Payments, you will not have using your number as a callback option as viewing the full number is protected within Jobber.
- Note: If you do not want to have "my number" as an option for a team member, remove their phone number from their user profile. Instead, a team custom field can be set up as a way to record their number which will not add it as a callback option for on my way texts.
- Office number - This is the phone number listed on jobber.com from the Gear Icon > Company Settings. Learn more about Company Settings.
The arrival options are:
- 5 minutes
- 10 minutes
- 15 minutes
- 30 minutes
- 45 minutes
- 60 minutes
Note: The number of minutes you select will be saved as pre-selected next time you send an "on my way" text message.
Once sent, the client will receive a message to their primary phone number that looks similar to the example below:
View your appointment here: link to client hub
The text will include a link to view the appointment details in client hub, including the assigned team members.
If a client replies to this text and you are not using two-way text messaging, they will receive a message asking them not to reply to this number.
The phone number that the "on my way" messages are sent from varies based on if you have two-way messaging enabled or not. If you are using two-way messaging, the "on my way" text comes from your dedicated phone number. If you are not using two-way messaging, the text comes from a pool of phone numbers where your client cannot reply directly via text. In either case, these messages are not sent via your employee's phone number.
Two-way text messaging
Two-way messaging is available on select plans in the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom.
Another option for sending text messages is Two-way messaging which gives your client the ability to reply back to automated messages like an "on my way" text where you can carry on a conversation. Rather than seeing an error and a prompt to reply back to you directly, you can text back and forth with your client via the message center in Jobber.
With two-way messaging, "on my way" messages are sent via your dedicated phone number.