Table of Contents
Great for recurring work– automatically create and pay invoices with a card saved on file.
This feature is available on the Connect and Grow plans when you have Jobber Payments turned on.
With automatic payments, clients who have a card stored on their profile through Jobber Payments are able to be automatically charged at the billing frequency that is set up upon job creation. Invoices will be automatically created and charged using Jobber Payments. Say goodbye to the waiting time between when an invoice is sent and when you get paid!
Automatic payments can be toggled on in the invoicing section when setting up a recurring job for a client that already has a card stored through Jobber Payments.
Saving a client's card
Automatic payments require having a client's card saved as a payment method before creating the job. If you want to turn on automatic payments as soon as possible, we suggest saving the client's card as soon as possible. In addition to adding the client's card manually, there are three ways to capture their card information through client hub:
- Your client can add their own cards to their Wallet so that their cards are ready to go once they have quotes or invoices to pay.
- Clients can chose to save their own card information for future use when making a payment.
- Cards can be saved automatically when paying a required deposit on the quote.
Setting up automatic payments on a recurring job
Automatic payments are only available for recurring jobs, since these jobs typically have recurring payments over the duration of the job. Automatic payments can be enabled when in the invoicing section of the job creation or edit screen. By default, automatic payments are off. In order to turn them on the client will need to have a credit card already stored with Jobber Payments on their profile.
The automatic payments follow the billing frequency that you set up in the invoicing section. There are two kinds of billing in Jobber:
- Per visit invoicing means that you will be charging the client for each visit. The line items that appear on each visit will be populated onto the invoice. This invoicing style works well if you offer different products and services on each visit, or if the client pays based on the number of times you visit them.
- Fixed price invoicing means that you will charge the same amount on each invoice. The line items that appear on the job (not visit) will be pulled onto the invoice. This invoicing style works well if a client pays a flat rate and it doesn't matter how many times you visit them.
From the When do you want to invoice? drop down, you set up how often the client will be billed:
- Monthly on the last day of the month: This option will generate an invoice on the last day of the month. This means on the 30th or 31st (or 28th in February) an invoice will be created and the client's stored card will be charged. If the payment is successful, the client will receive an emailed receipt. The invoice will be created regardless of day of the week.
- After each visit is completed: Once a visit is marked completed, the invoice will be generated and the client's stored card will be charged. If the payment is successful, the client will receive an emailed receipt.
- As needed- no reminders: this option isn't compatible with automatic payments, if you select as needed automatic reminders will be toggled to off.
- Once the job is closed: Jobs are typically closed once the entire duration of the job has been completed. This option doesn't take visits into consideration, but the actual job being closed. Once you close the job the client's stored card will be charged. If the payment is successful, the client will receive an emailed receipt.
- Custom schedule: This one is up to you! If you'd prefer to invoice on a particular day, this is the option you will want to select.
To create a job that has automatic payments, users will need to have the same kind of permissions that would typically be needed to collect a payment. These permissions are: View and edit full client and property info (client and properties permission) + view and edit (job permission) + view and edit (invoice permission) + show pricing.
Note: If a user has permission to complete visits and the job is set up to be invoiced after each visit, they are still able to complete visits and have the invoice be automatically created and charged.
Outside of using automatic payments, invoice creation relies on the presence of an invoice reminder to prompt you to invoice. However, with automatic payments, invoice reminders do not get created. In the billing section on the job you will see invoices that have been created and paid. If you were to turn off automatic payments, you would see invoice reminders populate in the billing section.
Invoices are created immediately according to the billing schedule that appears on the job. That means that if you have (for example) invoicing after each visit selected, as soon as the visit is marked complete an invoice will be created and their card will be charged. We will automatically charge the client's stored card and if successful, you will see the paid invoice appear in the billing section of the job.
If the charge is unsuccessful, we won't try to charge the client automatically again and you will be notified by email that the charge did not go through. Since the invoice is unpaid, you can reach out to the client to see if they'd prefer to pay with a different card. If the client chooses to pay with a new card, this will be the card charged going forward. You can also try to charge their card again manually from the invoice by clicking Collect Payment on the invoice. We will only attempt to charge the stored card one time.
If your invoicing schedule is set to invoice on a particular day such as the last day of the month the invoices aren't sent as soon as the clock hits midnight, but rather at 9pm (in your timezone) that day. Your client will automatically receive an emailed receipt that shows their successful payment along with a link to the client hub where they can view the invoice.
You will also see that with automatic payments, that the option to generate an invoice is grayed out. This is because invoices will be created automatically based on the billing frequency, so the option to manually create an invoice for this job is removed.
When your client's automatic payment has gone through, they will receive a receipt email that shows how much they have paid. This email also has a button that allows them to view the invoice, just in case they are wondering what products or services their payment was for.
The jobs page shows a column for invoicing. This column shows if this job will be invoiced automatically, or if there is an invoice reminder that will prompt you to invoice.
You can also see if a job is setup with automatic payments from the app. From the info tab of a job, the billing section highlights the billing type, reminder frequency, and if automatic payments are enabled.